Community Input to County Board Members

On January 11, 2021, the Mendocino County Board of Education held a public hearing to begin consideration of Caspar Creek’s appeal of the Mendocino Unified School District board’s September 30, 2020 denial of our petition to continue our 20-year success story—now as an independent, non-classroom-based, K-5 charter school. The County Board will decide our appeal in a regular meeting to be held Monday, February 8, 2021, at 10:00 AM, with our appeal as a “timed item” starting at 12:00 PM. If approved by the county board, Caspar Creek will re-open in Fall 2021.

February 8, 2021, 10:00 AM; agenda item 6.1, listed as a timed item starting at 12:00 noon.

One of the factors county board members must consider is the level of community support for approval. Special consideration is given to the thoughts of parents, teachers and other stakeholders who are directly affected by their decision. To have your voice heard, you may address the board during the meeting, either in your own voice, or by having your comment read aloud by staff.

Public Comment Form (best method; click here)

  1. Submit your comment using the Public Comment Form linked above at least two hours in advance of the 10:00 AM meeting start time. Mention “agenda item 6.1, Caspar Creek.”
  2. You will then be sent a Zoom invitation to join the meeting at the appropriate time if desired.
  3. This method of communication will ensure that your comment becomes part of the public record.

View Meeting Live (click here)

Should you wish to also communicate in advance with county board members—who are considering our petition anew, and will not have received your previous communication with district board members—we’ve provided the following convenient group email link.

Group Email Link: County Board

Clicking or tapping the above Group Email Link will open a blank email, pre-addressed to all five members of the county board, with the subject “Caspar Creek charter appeal,” into which you can type (or paste) your message.

Should you prefer to email the five county board members individually instead of as a group, the following email list is provided for your convenience.

Individual County Board Member Emails

Marilyn PugetBoard PresidentArea 1: Calpella, Potter Valley, Redwood Valley, Talmage/Ukiah (East)
Larry OlsonVice PresidentArea 2:
Charline FordBoard MemberArea 3: Covelo, Laytonville,
Drew DuncanBoard MemberArea 4: Caspar, Cleone, Fort Bragg, Leggett, Piercy,
Don CruserBoard MemberArea 5: Boonville, Comptche, Hopland, Navarro, Philo, Mendocino to

Comments are closed.